NEP 2020 Structure

What Is The New 5+3+3+4 Academic Structure?

Replacing the traditional 10+2 structure with a modern 5+3+3+4 structure is the most eye-catching alteration in the NEP 2020. 10+2 has been used in our educational system for an extended period. 

Under the new Pedagogical and Circular Structure, the administration has divided student education into four parts. The four divisions are Secondary, Middle, Preparatory, and Foundational. 

Throughout their academic careers, students’ educational progress will be heavily reliant on these four stages of learning. These four levels of student education will be separated as follows:

5 Years of Foundational Stage: The foundation stage is the first phase of a child’s education. In this programme, students will receive five years of training.

  • For Ages : 3 to 8
  • For Classes: Anganwadi/pre-school, class 1, class 2
  • This stage will emphasize linguistic skill development and play-based or activity-based teaching techniques.

3 Years of Preparatory Stage: The preparatory stage is the second phase of a child’s education. In this programme, students will receive three years of training.

  • For Ages: 8 to 11
  • For Classes : 3 to 5
  • Developing language and numeracy abilities will remain the key priorities in the preparatory period. Play, activity-based learning, classroom relationships, and discovery would all be incorporated into this scenario.

3 Years of Middle Stage: The middle school years will be the third stage of schooling. Where students in grades 6 to 8 are eligible. For the final three years of a kid’s schooling, he/she will be prepared for the secondary school level.

  • For Ages: 11 to 14
  • For Classes: 6 to 8
  • According to NEP 2020, this phase concentrates on critical learning. It would be a significant change from the current rote learning techniques. This phase will focus on experiential learning in the humanities, social sciences, arts, and sciences.

4 Years of Secondary Stage: The secondary stage will be the last phase of a student’s educational career. Instead of the usual two years, they will have four years from Class 9 to 12 to finish their secondary education.

  • For Ages: 14 to 18
  • For Classes 9 to 12
  • Classes 9- 10 and 11 -12 will be covered in this stage, where a more in-depth discussion will be conducted based on the chosen subject.

Significance Of The 5+3+3+4 Structure

The government anticipates that the 5+3+3+4 framework will emphasize students’ cognitive development more. Through this approach, the educational experiences of children can be enhanced. The 5+3+3+4 framework, as opposed to the 10+2 one, will strengthen the kids’ foundation with the help of secondary stages. 

Students will also benefit from this new framework as they fully exercise their entitlement to an education. It is because the facility serves children ages 3 to 18 rather than ages 6 to 14. As a result, the students will receive assistance as soon as they enrol in a school.

In addition, this structure will help to improve the retention rate drastically. Also, more students will finish their academic careers at their schools. In conclusion, students will gain from this new framework in every manner conceivable. A better literacy rate under this approach will also benefit India’s future.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *